Skis · Analysis

Camber or rocker? 9 of 10 skis we checked say both

Ski shops talk about "camber" and "rocker" as if you must pick one. In the skis we checked, you don't: the maker or retailer describes both in the same ski.

November 2026

What the words mean

A ski's profile is its side-view shape. Rocker means the tip or tail curves up off the snow. Camber means the ski arches up underfoot, so it touches the snow at both ends of that zone. Our diagram (drawn by us, schematic, not to scale) shows one ski with three zones: tip rocker, camber, tail rocker.

What we found

We looked for profile wording for the 26 skis in our set and found it for 10. Nine state rocker, camber, rocker. The tenth, the Rossignol Arcade 88, says "a rockered tip and tail profile" and doesn't mention camber, so we don't count it as camber-stated. None of the 10 is described as full camber or full rocker.

SkiWording (verbatim)Zones
Volkl M7 MantraRocker/Camber/Rockertip rocker, camber, tail rocker
Fischer Ranger 96Rocker/Camber/Rockersame
Nordica Enforcer 99Rocker/Camber/Rockersame
Dynastar M-Pro 94TiRocker/Camber/Rockersame
Kastle Paragon 93Rocker/Camber/Rockersame
Blizzard Black Pearl 94Rocker/Camber/Rocker, Blizzard Tip Tail Rockersame
Armada Reliance 92 TiRocker/Camber/Rocker (EST All Mountain Rocker; camber underfoot maintains edge hold on the hardpack)same
Faction Dancer 2rocker/camber/rockersame
Black Diamond Impulse Ti 98Early Rise Tip - Camber Underfoot - Rockered Tailsame
Rossignol Arcade 88a rockered tip and tail profiletip rocker, tail rocker (camber not stated)

The wording differs; the shape described doesn't. Read a description from tip to tail. If a spec line doesn't name camber, ask rather than assume.

Caveats

Profile text was found for 10 of our 26 skis; the other 16 pages had none or wouldn't load. Our set is mostly all-mountain skis, so we can't say anything about powder or park skis. The spec lines name zones, not rocker lengths or heights, so we say nothing about how much rocker or camber a ski has. A pattern, not proof.

Sources

Retailer and maker spec lines, checked 2026-10-30: Ski Essentials (Mantra, Ranger 96, Enforcer 99, M-Pro 94Ti, Paragon 93, Black Pearl 94, Dancer 2), evo (Reliance 92 Ti), Rossignol (Arcade 88) and Black Diamond (Impulse Ti 98). URLs are in data.csv and sources.md for this post.

What profile is on your skis?

The slides

Cover: "Camber or rocker? 9 of 10 skis say both." We read the profile text for 10 of our 26 skis.
Schematic side view of a ski, not to scale: tip curves up (tip rocker), middle arches up (camber), tail curves up (tail rocker).
Bar chart: 9 of 10 skis state tip rocker, camber and tail rocker; 1 of 10 states tip and tail rocker with camber not stated. None is described as full camber or full rocker.
Three verbatim profile wordings: Volkl M7 Mantra "Rocker/Camber/Rocker"; Black Diamond Impulse Ti 98 "Early Rise Tip - Camber Underfoot - Rockered Tail"; Rossignol Arcade 88 "a rockered tip and tail profile".
Caveats: profile text found for 10 of 26 skis, nothing on powder or park skis, no rocker amounts; a pattern, not proof.
Takeaways: every ski checked has rocker at the ends, 9 of 10 state camber too; read tip to tail; question: what profile is on your skis?